thework101

To go deeper: A reflection of collaboration and resistance and growth

In Resistance, Uncategorized on June 1, 2010 at 5:09 pm

I just finished the post on our collective individual bout with resistance. After reading it I had to wonder. Looking back at my co-workers, I realized that the group has changed the way I experience resistance. It has afforded me a container to experience resistance in.

What I mean by this is that instead of just acting out in order to resist, I now have the option to resist resistance…which is excruciating work.  Necessary but excruciating all the same.

Resistance. Resistance is a natural, predictable, emotional response to change. So where is the change?

Most notable is that all of us were busy. We were not loosing any ground. We weren’t losing clients, work was not going undone. Although we did have to take ourselves aside and have some stern talks with our slacking work selves, for the most part all of us were getting things done.

Success

SO then, What was the problem?

It was time to step up our game…AGAIN. Man sometimes the stairs are steep and it can be a bit disheartening to find that once you pull yourself up and over there is yet again another stair to climb.

Time to grow and the only way to do that is to do something different. And to do something different means learning something different. Learning something different means challenging old ideas, finding out what our holes are. What are we not doing. What are we un-doing? What do we need to do? What can we do differently to gain some ground?

Excruciating, I tell you.

So to resist resistance means being able to go deeper into it. To question it. To experience. To not resist resistance is to resist it? It can all get very confusing really fast.

It all boils down to one of my favorite quotes by Winston Churchill, “When you find yourself walking through hell, don’t stop”

I’ll tell you what though, it is easier to keep going when you are walking with others.

Dena

MFT, Life-Strategist, Co-Creator theWork101

Leave a comment