thework101

David Sedaris, Washington DC and Collaboration

In Collaboration, Events, Uncategorized on September 6, 2010 at 9:49 pm

focus

The Vision:  I love David Sedaris… I mean that guy can crack me up and I was so excited because he is coming to Los Angeles and I actually had the time and day to buy tickets set in my calendar… with a reminder alarm. I mean I was ready. Plan in place.

Plan in action: So my alarm goes off and I am like…Right on…David Sedaris… I am so jazzed man. So I log on and wait until the clock clicks over to 9:00am and buy my tickets… in Washington DC.

What is that saying? The best laid plans…

I am always telling my clients that often the way a plan shakes out is not always the way we had originally envisioned it to be. The task is to go with it. Surf the experience and ride the wave all the way through.

So now it is time to surf…

The Solution: I love, love, love collaboration…It’s my thing. Collaborative therapy,  collaborative parenting, collaborative community building- I use this stuff like salt. I believe it is a transformative process in that it adds definition and depth to self and other. When used correctly, the space that collaboration creates is powerful and an entity unto itself .

So here is my question to you. What is the role of a leader in a collaboration?

The most intriguing answer wins the tickets.

If you don’t live in Washington DC and would still like to answer, I would love to hear it.

So bring it on my brothers and sisters. You have until Monday September 20. This will allow me time to mail (yes actual mail) the tickets to you.

Peace

Dena Plotkin

@dmplotkin

DenaPlotkin.com

  1. There is no one leader in true collaboration.

    • It’s a commonly held belief that there is no leader in a true collaboration, however I have not found this to be the case.

      Leadership is an important task in a collaboration, however it does function differently than in other types of working models.

      In collaboration the role or the leader focuses mainly on facilitation of the process vs. the typical top down type of leadership we have come to expect.

      Instead of being the decision maker, the leader’s function is to help to maintain the flow and function of the collaboration, ensuring that it is working properly and that the group has not bees diverted into more traditional styles of working.

      keeping transparency, intention and accountability present in the work and discussion is crucial for collaborations to prove effective.

      Also, one other quick thought about collaborative leadership is that often, it is not a static thing. Traditionally leaders are agreed upon and set. This is or that person is identifiable as ” the leader. ” However in collaboration a collaboration there can be several leers at once facilitating different aspects of the work at different
      times.

Leave a Reply

